Cup is half full

You cannot live on this earth for very long and not hear someone pose the question:  Is the cup half full or half empty?

It annoys me, this smug little bit of supposed philosophical inquiry.  Let me share with you what Master X does with those who choose to toy with me this way.  My response to this question is a question of my own:  Am I drinking from this cup or pouring into it?

You see, the cup is nothing until we interact with it.  Life is a series of interactions, people brought together by seemingly random events.  But nothing is random.  The red light you run puts you 60 seconds ahead on your schedule and places you one mile up the highway, where you might miss or be part of an multi-car accident.  Each decision takes us to the next, a series of domino, falling to the stored potential of gravity, triggered by the momentum of the last fall.

If I am drinking from the cup it is half empty.  I created this condition.  If I am pouring into it my cup is half full.  It is in that moment a statement of my interaction with it.

I don’t believe in empty cups.  There is no such thing.  My cup is always full, be it full of air or full of liquid, my cup runneth over.  I am ever thankful that I can be a vessel for all the love I can bear.  I am a conduit through which all possibilities can flow, I am tied to the infinite, as we all are.  It is just that some of us don’t see it as clearly as others.

In BDSM, I express my need to share this discovery, to know that in a very real way I have made at least one life better, I have passed on the secrets that have been revealed to me.  It pains me that more are not happy, more are not free from their self imposed chains.  We want so much.. a significant other, money, job, a home, children.. we want and we want.

We seek to fill our cups, but the cup was already full.  We displace that which was already there with the things we put into our cups.  Life is a mystery and it is not.  It is as simple as just living it, and it is not that simple.

When pursuing the mysteries of life; seeking higher truths, remember that every real truth is a paradox. This is why, the smarter we get, the less we know. ~Xtac Quote

There are no empty cups.  Cups are neither half full nor half empty.  Cups are an expression of our interaction with the world around us.  The trick to life is to learn to drink deeply from a cup full of air.  Master that my friends, and you have the world by the balls.

Carpe Diem.. Drink deeply..

6 thoughts on “Cup is half full

  1. Who ever come up with this thought must of been one bored fucker , and is probably the only accomplishment in their life okay I am just assuming.
    My cup is always full my slave makes sure of that, in life my cup is always full.

    On a deeper thought though.

    Empty your mind, be formless. Shapeless, like water. If you put water into a cup, it becomes the cup. You put water into a bottle and it becomes the bottle. You put it in a teapot it becomes the teapot. Now, water can flow or it can crash. Be water my friend.”

    Bruce Lee

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

