The danger of removing free will

Are there any Calvin and Hobbes fans out there?   Hope so, cause here is a dialog from a comic that caught my eye this evening:

Calvin:   Do you believe our destinies are determined by the stars?
Hobbes: Nah.
Calvin:   Oh I do.
Hobbes: Really? How come?
Calvin:   Life’s a lot more fun when you’re not responsible for your actions.

I had no idea that Calvin had the makings of a slave.  Who knew?  Before I can begin this blog, I need to reference a bit of writing which lays the ground work for the Master / slave conclusions that follow.  It’s rather long, but I encourage you to take a look:  No such thing as free will


THE THREE SLAVE CHOICES, REVISITED – To understand my points in this section, you may need to read, or perhaps reread this blog: A slave has THREE choices

I am a patient owner.  If my slave exercises her power of consent I would not vaporized our relation for that.  Not all owners are so forgiving.  I had this very conversation recently.

I asked, What if you wanted to do cutting and scarification and you had not negotiated that beforehand?  They replied, I would damn well cut the slave or they wouldn’t be my slave any more.  I said, I am willing to give such things time.  They replied, I haven’t got time for that shit. 

I gave that conversation a lot of thought.  This owner was not disagreeing with the three slave choices, they were in a way agreeing.  IF choice one was not honored, and the second choice – to exercise consent was used, the owner would make choice three for them.

And that brings me back to thinking about the way we interact.  It makes me think of our styles.  Let me be clear.  You can not present the argument “all nilla relations are fundamentally flawed” ( a blog I have yet to write) and also disagree with the person I was speaking with.  We agree, my slave, my rules.

I completely agree that an owner of a CNC, or TPE slave may play with that property in any manner that was not removed by negotiation.  That being said, renegotiation, and patience are the personal domain of the Dominant. If a slave is in service to a Dominant who will not renegotiate, so be it.  I can still assimilate these vastly different approaches into the common thread of three choices.


WHAT SHOULD DOMINANTS DO WITH FREE WILL? – What we CAN do with our property is not the question.  What we SHOULD do is my question.. In the free will article ( No such thing as free will), much like the Calvin cartoon, these words fairly screamed at me:

“It seems that when people stop believing they are free agents, they stop seeing themselves as blameworthy for their actions.”

Cartoons can often be a source of insight.  Calvin, common sense, and the results of this study tell us that there is a danger in removing free will.  But what is that danger, and can we avoid it while still engaging in total power exchange?  I believe the greatest danger to removing free will is two fold.  First is the question of ethical authority and the second is the question of damage .

ETHICAL AUTHORITY – If we order a slave to “lie about another person”, should they?  If we order a slave to shoplift, should they?  The first responsibility of any slave is to protect the ethical high ground, to take ownership for the only thing that any of us can truly own, our choices. A slave must say no to these commands because no level of control should override the slaves commitment to their personal ethics.

PROTECTING PROPERTY – If we tell a slave that we are going to cut off some part of their anatomy, should they submit?  The answer should be “no” since the second highest responsibility is to protect the Master’s property.  By property, that means the body and health of the slave, and all of Master’s significant assets.

TEST – What if the command is to scratch up a car?   An owner does have the right to key their own car, to smash its windows, to cut up the seats, if they wish.  But ordering a slave to do so is in direct violation of at least one basic principle of slavery.  A slave can’t know if this is a test of ethics, protection, or obedience.   I might test my slave by ordering her to hide something so it can be shoplifted, but if she did, I would have a long talk later about free will and her three responsibilities, and their order of priority.

What I am saying is that I can control every aspect of her life, and yet she must still be responsible for decisions in two areas: The Masters property, and ethical behavior.  My slave may give up free will, but I still need to be certain that she is still making judgements, deciding for herself if my orders are in conflict with her two main responsibilities.

We want our slaves to feel unburdened with responsibility. It is to a slave’s benefit to feel protected and comforted by the will of the Master.  But we must also not let that comfort sink into moral deprivation.  Not having to make decisions may put a slave at ease, but we must test that some decisions are still being made, if we are to have slaves of value.

IT’S A COMPLEX THING, to make the right balance of choices, to take the right amount of control from a slave, and yet make them think and be uneasy at times, for their own good. Its not all about the sex, though that is certainly a delicious part of it.  If you really desire to be a Master or slave, then the rabbit hole runs much deeper.  The mind is a gate to wondrous pleasures and happiness.  As a Master or a slave, you must have expectations that much attention will be paid to the buttons that unlock your full potential.  Every good Dominant tries to get inside your head. Sometimes its as therapist, but sometimes its for more wicked reasons.  We must remember to control the mind, not the body, of our slaves.

TO ANSWER THE QUESTION, What should we do with free will?, the answer is:  Train your slave to know and understand the three slave responsibilities.   Their ethical authority, and the protection of your property, must come before your commands.


CHOICES – Much is made of choices. It has been argued that free will is an illusion, in the article above.  It is argued that all we do is react.  I will point to some of my quotes to dive deeper into choices:

I can not create a minute, even the minutes of my life belong to a higher force. The only thing I truly own, are my choices. ~Xtac Quote

If all we can own are our choices, then why would a slave give up the last thing in their possession, the one true thing they can own?  The answer is that a slave makes the ultimate choice, to trust.  Trust is a slaves true gift.  And because consensual slavery is what it is, the reality is that an owner is really more of a leader, a guide, and an observer.  What is given, can be taken back at any time if that guidance is false or damaging.  So while we say a slave makes one choice, the choices don’t end there.  With the three slave responsibilities, comes many other choices.


I find that when my choices are not aligned with my alliances, it often confuses both my friends and enemies and that is OK. Owning a decision made upon independent and original thought is never going to be easy. ~Xtac Quote

In the same way that a slave shows great courage in their single choice, the Dominant must possess the wisdom and courage to make critical choices for themselves and for those they lead.  This requires real thought and consideration, not for the choices but for the process of making choices, how you arrive at a decision.  Are you narcissistic?  Too action/passion based?  Too much the compassionate simple observer?   Do you only take advise from “yes men”?   Are you changed by criticism?  Do you listen to the thoughts of enemies?  When you approach your choices with independent thought, the sheep will be confused.  How you come to a decision can drastically reshape the decisions you make and those choices may sometimes put you in the enemy camp (in some peoples mind).  If a Dominant would own intelligent property with a strong ethical compass, as we all should, compatibility is key for Owner and property.   Its OK for us to appear to be in the camp of our enemies, but Owner and property need to be more aligned in thought so that doesn’t happen.


When you approach each decision upon its own merits, this results in an apparent inconsistency and that is as it should be, for real truth often seems counter intuitive. ~Xtac Quote

It is important for a slave for all the reasons outlined above, to have a degree of autonomy in the tasks given to them.  Just as the choices a Dominant makes, defines their values and life, this is a lesson that needs to be given as well to the slave.  Choices come with consequences.  They need to know that those consequences will be narrowed to the goals of Ds.  They need to know that with your dominance, comes protection.  They need to know that if a choice is not good, the only disappoint to worry about is yours.  Our job is to shield our slave from consequences larger than our disappointment (as if anything could be larger-ha!), but also hold our slave accountable.  You may need to carefully consider your reactions.  It helps to remember that the time spent will be fun for you as your slave “twitches”, waiting for your decision.  Bottom line, even if the merits of a decision is not understood by anyone else, it is enough that Master and slave understand each other, and both understand how the other’s choices are derived.


Calvin, common sense, and this study.  They tell us that without some responsibility for choices, without some free will, a slave can “stop seeing themselves as blameworthy for their actions.”   There is a danger to removing too much free will, but the three slave responsibilities can help us do the right thing.  With the three responsibilities, we can do the right thing for our slaves, for ourselves, and for others.  If you got this far, I am shocked, and pleased, that you found value to finish.  That was a long one.  When I have some time, I think this one needs to be cross posted in DSG, my dominant support group in Fetlife.

6 thoughts on “The danger of removing free will

  1. Dearest X,

    That comic dialog though! God, I have been trying to put that exact concept in words for…well ever. And of course one of my favorite comic buddies says it perfectly, ha! You have a great eye for wisdom.

    “What we CAN do with our property is not the question. What we SHOULD do is my question”
    This is a perfect understanding of the responsibility of an Owner’s property. Many do not seem to grasp this notion…alas, it is so imperative…. Why do you think that is X?

    “I can not create a minute, even the minutes of my life belong to a higher force. The only thing I truly own, are my choices.” Ah yes. All we have in life are our memories and opportunities. A good friend once told me this and you seem to strengthen this idea as well. Thank you.

    This post is so enticing. It is simple with your ‘3 slave responsibilities’…although the rabbit hole does go much deeper. 😉 I feel compelled to blog about this very idea!! Thank you X!!

    What a wonderful (yet again) start to my day….thank you sincerely and genuinely….

    ~slave bri

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: Free will – What it takes to be a Dom | Kinky Klarity

  3. Pingback: Bonus blog! – Removing free will, part 2 | Living With X

  4. I found this blog to be insightful. As a slave, I find that my actions/decisions are in direct reflection of my owners training. I am a direct representation of his will and with that comes a responsibility to behave in a manner that is pleasing to him and in accordance with his ethics. Although, it is important for the slave and the owner to negotiate what shared ethics there are at the beginning, this alleviates large missteps on the slaves part when the slave understands the focus of the owner.

    In my dynamic, as a slave, I find pleasure in pleasing my owner while he allows my free will responsibilities, i.e. work, family, time away.. in these times it becomes more of a testament of his training on how I exercise free will in accordance to the expectations set forth by him.. in these times is when a slave can excel and truly exercise the attitude of serving knowing that each decision is a reflection of their owner and is therefore influenced by the owner due to the establishment of his needs and wants..

    Thank you
    ~arianna

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you. I consistently implied that the slave owns their ethics. You consistently state that your ethics are a reflection of the training from the Master you serve.

    That’s good food for thought. TPE is in fact an illusion because it is founded on consent and consent can be withdrawn. But if you are with the person who is right for you, consent will never be withdrawn. Likewise, if you are with the right person, ethical objection should never arise either. Compatibility really is the key to never having to deviate from the will of the one you serve.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

