Life happens

I was a new assistant manager and one thing went wrong, then another, then another. My manager called in from his vacation, and when I explained with some distress all that was going on, he laughed and said “trial by fire”.

A long time ago I learned to juggle many responsibilities.  But juggling responsibilities is a lot like the story I tell that explains why I don’t let a lot of people into my life.

There once was a woman who had a cat and when she came home at night she and the cat were very cozy and happy together.  Then the cat had kittens and she couldn’t part with them all and kept a few.  Each kitten became a cat and each competed for time with her with varying degrees of success, and from that time on she was never as close to her cat as she once was.

The truth is that we have a finite amount of time to give and each thing we devote time to takes more of that time away.  So it is with responsibilities.

Now I have been just keeping up with all of my responsibilities, devoting just enough time to the people around me, and my endeavors, and my work, but all of these have placed enormous burdens on me recently and all at the same time and its a little overwhelming.

I am not complaining, just observing and perhaps writing it down to acknowledge it.  There is entirely too much shit going on in my life right now and its becoming increasingly hard to devote the amount of time I should to each area of responsibility.  Failure, as you can well imagine is not an option I want, but neither will I invest undue emotions into a failure.  I’ve got the right perspective.  So what DO I want?  I think I just need to ask the universe to back off just a bit.  Or not.  Everything that is happening is part of a shaping that could be wonderful for my relations, and endeavors and work.  Sigh.

I guess what is hardest is that to everyone around me, I project confidence.  I want these things to move forward and succeed.  To facilitate that, I need to find the time, make things happen, stay on top of my game, and keep everyone else engaged and positive at the same time.  Nothing to do but suck it up, and get it done.

If you want to hear God laugh, tell him your plans ~ Sno quote

Nearly done writing this and what have I learned?  My muse says to lighten my heart, and enjoy the ride.  OK!  I can do that.  But I may need to come back and reread this later.  If I’ve learned anything over the years, its how easy it is to forget, how easy it is to let go of your burdens.  Now to go be someone’s great day!

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Life happens

  1. Solid blog. I’m feeling these exact same pressures right now, big time. And I know in the coming months it’s only going to get worse! Trial by fire indeed.

    What I know for sure is age tends to bring wisdom if you’re always focused on improving yourself. Every few years I look back on myself and shake my head recognizing my silliness then vs now.

    I think what you were feeling at the time you wrote this blog is you were seeing the surrounding problems and comparing what you knew you could handle at a younger age, before tackling them with your new found wisdom and responsible nature and finding them not nearly as intolerable as they once were! I guess I could have just said you are working smarter, not harder, but it doesn’t sound as meaningful in such a short catch phrase.

    Hopefully I can find myself equally as ready in the months to come. I sure don’t feel that ready just yet!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. During my first “trial by fire”, I reached a point where I HAD to fail at something. It was a delivery department and there was simply too much work to be done and not enough people to do it. It was in that moment that the phrase.. “water off a duck” came to have real meaning. When you reach a point where you can’t do it all, you have to divest yourself of emotions about it. Of course you care about the failure, but you can’t continue to beat yourself up.. you have to let it go. For me, that is much easier said than done, but I understand it intellectually, even if I find it hard to do.

    Pressure can only make you nuts, but only if you accept it. If you let it be like “water off a duck”, then the pressure can’t reach you..and you are much more effective with what can be done. Its a bit like the soldier who is calm in combat, or a paramedic doing triage.. You are more effective when you attach your focus to your choices, not their outcome.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

