I hate being told what to do

The subject is tasks, autonomy and trust.  Today’s events at work and events with my slave, made me give some thought to this.  When someone tells me to do something that I was already doing, or had planned to do, it pisses me off.  I see this in other people too.  When a person tells me to do something I was already going to do, then they can take credit for MY planning, MY work and MY accomplishments.  I don’t like it.  Nope, not one bit.

I suspect that most stypes are not going to as annoyed as I am by this, though some obviously will be. If an stype is annoyed by that, I would get it.   I personally need a certain degree of autonomy and trust when I am entrusted with a task.

Why wouldn’t some stypes feel the same?  A slave shouldn’t be treated like a robot. If you have property with intelligence and talent, you should leverage that. You should provide a bit of autonomy.  But you should also balance it with times of total control.  I often say: “Manage the mind of a slave, not the body”.  I think a slave should feel your control, your presence, in every aspect of their life.  How I  balance autonomy and control is influenced by my management preferences and my slave’s unique character and motivations.

Consensual slaves often have things that must be done… banking errands, bill payments, shopping for supplies that have run out, etc.  If I just start ordering my slaves day, without any knowledge of the plans she had tried to make, it can cause issues.  I have no problem with causing issues for her it it pleases me, but since my goal is mutual happiness, that has to be a consideration.

My own slave is curious in regard to task, trust, and autonomy.  As a slave she takes direction willingly, happily.  Like me, she too does not like being told to do something she was already planning to do.  She also tends to procrastinate.  Those three things cause conflict.  My canvas is a constant source of pleasure for the complexity her mind requires to be managed. She is an interesting study in motivation.


Having told you all of this, let me now explain HOW I manage the mind, and tasks I give to my slave, in a way that meets her motivational needs.

When I decide there is a task I want her to perform, I will set a time for when I expect it to be completed and provide instruction for any specific details I want done in an exacting manner.  I am generally reasonable about  the time to delivery but the expected completions time is key. This is the part where I show trust in her intelligence and self management skills.

When I know she will have free time, I ask what she wants to do with her free time.  What I am really asking is, are you working my tasks into the schedule?  This way I am checking up on her in a way that let’s her show pride in what she has done with the autonomy I’ve granted but I am also checking on the procrastination problem.  This let’s me feed her motivational need, while still giving me the information I need to shift to micromanaging. If I have to do that, based on her personality, it is basically a punishment.

My goal is to be completely in control of my slave, while also utilizing her brain and talents, in  way that makes us both happy.  After all, neither of us wants her to be a robot.  I think I need to say that I don’t always allow autonomy.  Sometimes I want something immediately and expect it.  This too is part of our happiness.  There are times when very strong and direct control is necessary to feel, appreciate, and enjoy just how deep the TPE runs.

So there you have it, the reflections that came about as a result of today’s events. Because I have these things thought out, the day was better for it.  It’s been yet another wonderful day as Master and slave, and life in general has been pretty awesome.  Its good to be this happy.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

