A new beginning

I’ve started blogs before.  MySpace, FaceBook, Blogger, GooglePlus.  They gain popularity, then fade or your words get lost in the clutter, sniping, and struggle to create and hold an audience.  These mediums all seems so transient, feeding a need for constant stimulation.  It’s the same old stuff, regurgitated over and over, always in new ways.  Its the constant search to be new, read, hot.  Its about feeding the stream.

I sometimes find it hollow, the craving for the latest, newest version of old words, old thoughts. A brilliant turn of words should be timeless. Some might be horrified by comments on old posts.  I disagree. We can’t always be brilliant, but in the course of steady production we often do manage to find a better way to touch what we already know, with words. A great thought should be worth “liking”, or commenting on, no matter how old, or so I reason. Ying and Yang, past and present.  Life’s like that, so let’s do this!

Like any writer, I would like to write something that lasts.  So very little does.  Being somewhat humble (can you say that and still be?), I don’t suppose I have anything to pen that is so brilliant that it will stand the test of time.  Yet again I bow to the irresistible force of now, this time determined to make it work.

My intention here is to scribble thoughts.  Some will have value.. ha!  ALL will have value, though often the value of a thing is in the fact it was a complete failure, a flag of caution to others to not go there.  What I don’t want to do is invest any concern in this.  If it stays or goes, is read or not, shouldn’t matter. My thought is to make a public diary, a stream of observations as they come to me, and not put any ego into its success.. ( ha! – speaking of ideas doomed to failure).  But seriously, if you follow and read long enough, you will find i have no emotions invested in the success of this venture.  Its about sharing, in the hope of better lives for us all.  Certainly that will be true for those close to me, who I can influence more effectively.

As I write this, I am still customizing my page so, I am not starting with the important stuff.. who I am, what I am, how life with X works.  I need time to customize my page, put up some warnings, get my colors appropriately dark, you know, stuff that matches the public perception of who and what a BDSM Master is.   Yeah, I threw down the “M” word, and yes to at least a few people, this is who I am.  Time for an “X” quote, something that you will see a lot of, if you follow me here.

The only titles of value are those acquired thru recognition by others. One claims that title by exercising that recognition, not asserting it. ~Xtac quote

What does that mean?  What is the significance?  Stick around, I’ll get to that in later blogs.

Initially, I wanted my WordPress domain to be xtac, but someone took that in 2006, which today would be ten years ago.  I wonder if it was me?  Could be.  Could be that I linked the xtac.WordPress domain to one of the many blogs or email addresses I’ve had over the years.  That’s just one more reason to not invest in an outcome to this project.  Since I can’t recall what I did then, I chose “Living with X”.  Many just call me “X” or “MasterX”.  Since my thoughts, and therefore my blog will certainly be largely about me and my property, and because I think the name has a nice, fireside chat feel to it, I said what the hell and ran with it.  It feels right.

I chose a chalkboard or blackboard theme to start with.  Maybe it will change later, but this too, feels right.  I lead a support group of Dominants, I give workshops, and am never so pleased as when I have the opportunity to school.. so yeah, the blackboard theme works.

I wasn’t sure what WordPress blog category this fit in.  I chose lifestyles.  I hope no one looking for travel blogs stumbles on this blog.  I used to say that you don’t have a right to “not be offended”.  I am not so sure about that anymore.  Ah well, that’s the danger (and amusement) in giving eight billion people the freedom to express their thoughts and then making it massively public.   Isn’t the internet wonderful?

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “A new beginning

  1. Pingback: Metaphorically speaking… and fire play | Living With X

Leave a Reply

